Advice in making a t-shirt tote

I’m a teacher. Each year, my school has a beauty pageant as a fundraiser and as a result, every teacher gets involved in some capacity. I’ve been asked to make tote bags (using school t-shirts) that will be used to hold judge “thank you” swag.

Today, I was given 5 shirts today, all different sizes and colors. Each has a different inspirational quote, which I’d like to utilize somehow.

I know that they don’t realize that the different sizes causes me to resize my pattern with each shirt so I’ve got to find a work around. I might be able to get my hands on enough of the same size…maybe.

I’ve looked at no sew bags and those don’t seem like a viable option. Plus I don’t think they would be appropriate for an appreciation gift.

I could cut the quote out and use it as a decorative panel in a regular canvas tote. Would I need to use some stabilizer to do this?

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. I’m currently more than a little overwhelmed at how to tackle this.

4 Likes

I think those no sew bags are cute but sort of too casual maybe for a swag bag…you could class it up a bit and make drawstring bags out of each t-shirt…

a bit of sewing…sew the hem, turn down at the top (hopefully the quotes would show!) You could get as fancy as you want…use some of the t as the string or use fun colors?

You could square the corners to make the bottom more bag like…you could go crazy with some embellishments, badges, fringe…

.drawstring bag from a t-shirt

Another sew drawstring bag

3 Likes