Autumn Plaid Dog Blanket from Thrifted, Vintage Yardage

DblKnitBlanket05

A couple months back I found this really cool plaid fabric at the thrift store - about 3 yards for $5.99 or $6.99. I LOVE it even though yellow is not a color I can wear. After a little refresher and a burn test, I realize what I had was some 70s-ish polyester double knit - not very pleasant to touch or particularly valuable for resale. DOG BLANKET IT IS! Pardon the blurry snowflakes - we’re getting our first snow. :mountain_snow:

DblKnitBlanket01

I already had a flannel in just the right warm grey that I had intended for a dog blanket project that I changed my mind about. I was willing to just sew them together right sides together, turn, and close up the opening, but… I wanted a little something decorative!

Enter GIANT ric rac! I have never used it before, despite how much I love ric rac, and I have never done this ric rac treatment with a seam. YEY!

DblKnitBlanket06

It’s not my best finish work, but it’s good enough for a dog blanket. Delia gives no barks about such things! It will replace the Halloween blanket on downstairs bed #3 come November and I will get an action shot then.

ADDENDUM: The plaid blanket has been deployed! I put it under the existing blanket a couple days ago so it would smell “right” and uncovered it today. She took to it immediately!

21 Likes

Really cute! The giant rickrack trim sets the plaid off so well. Delia’s bed will look so fancy.

1 Like

How autumn-y. That ric-rac is the perfect touch!

Perfect combination of fabric and rickrack, your (mature) puppy will love snuggling in it!

Thanks, everyone!