Cleaning rubber stamps with Simple Green

I need to clean my rubber stamps and I’ve never done it before. I was hoping to save money as I only have a few stamps so I would like to avoid buying stamp cleaner if I can.

According to the internet I should use soap and water, but I also found this using Simple Green. I have a bottle on hand so it would be a good option for me.

Has anyone tried this and would you recommend? Thank you!

When I took a printmaking class back in college we used Simple Green to clean all of our printing materials (unless using oil based paints, then had to use turpentine :grimacing:) So I think you should be fine.

2 Likes

I have not used Simple Green but I have used Murphy’s oil soap to clean brushes, stamps, and stencils.

And recently read about soaking stencils in dishwasher detergent and that worked well also.

1 Like

TBH I never clean my stamps. I guess I should if I wanted to switch colors but I usually just stamp on the new color and off on scrap paper until the old color is gone.

1 Like

Simple Green is a solvent for acrylic and latex paints, so depending on what you stamp with it could work wonders! However, if your stamps have latex or acrylic, it could damage them.

2 Likes

Honestly? I just take them to the sink when I wash my hands and give them a quick clean. Even if the surface retains some of the ink colour I haven’t found that it matters later, even when stamping with lighter colours.

Hmm… I’m also side eyeing the fact that this cleaning tip is on the product website. Sure, it could work, but hand soap is also pretty gentle. If I already had it on hand I might try, but I wouldn’t buy it just for that.

2 Likes