Elementary Art Mixed Media Teaching Models: Munch Shores and Still Life with Zentangle Background

In hopeful preparation of the possibility of becoming the elementary art teacher next school year, I’m studying to pass the OAE Art test as well as preparing projects to teach and that I can use in my portfolio. I don’t want to post each of them individually, so I’ll probably post them sporadically, a few at a time. Today I am introducing my Edvard Munch Shores and Still Life with Zentangle Background.

First up, the still life.

I put together a small fruit bowl, and used it as my model. I drew a horizon line to show the difference from my “table” and the “wall.” My art teacher friend usually has her students start with Sharpie, but I used pencil then drew over with Sharpie. I am trying to use the supplies at home that most closely align with the supplies in the art room, so I decided to use colored pencil for the fruit bowl. I did lighter and darker areas for shading and I also showcased some blending for more realistic apples.

I used a simple chevron pattern for my “table.” I alternated the chevron stripes in blue and green, outlined their stripe in the correct color in marker, then filled in with watercolor.

Before the students will draw their zentangle, they will be given some reference sheets of different zentangle designs and they will practice creating them, as well has practicing inventing their own. Then, they will take this knowledge and transfer it to their backgrounds. I chose to set my bowl in front of a window, and I can show them how to do that. I used marker to fill in the smaller areas and then coordinating watercolor color for the larger area to fill in the background.

Usually the current art teacher wants the subject to b quite larger (bigger than hand, which my still life is) but I wanted to have lots of room for the zentangle, too. This is meant for 6th grade.

I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out!