Here comes the sun... I hope

Wayhay, I said it was time for some spring/summer clothing so here we go!! I’m calling the sun out with some nice airy double gauze short trousers in yellow and metallic gold :sunglasses: :sunny:

So I made these trousers for another pattern challenge on my fave fabric store’s blog (which is also where the lovely double gauze is from), this time a McCalls one. I’m admittedly not fond of big company paper patterns, I find the diagrams hard to understand, being self-taught I often have to look up the terms used, and generally get very frustrated, and this was no exception!

McCalls M7131

That said though, at least I came away from it having learnt what ‘easestitch’ and ‘understitch’ meant, and I’m pleased to say that I’ve already used the latter a few times since and will definitely use it more often! :nerd_face:

To start off with I was very confused as to what the differences were in the different views, looking through the pattern I summised that A, B, C and E were just the different length options, but pattern view D seemed to be… the same but different, lol. I’m still not quite sure because they never said anywhere, but it seemed to be a 2 layer trousers or something, but who knows?!

Anyways that’s more info that you really needed. So I picked view B/C because I’m awkward and I found B too short, and C too long, so I made B½. And upon finishing the garment I decided annoyingly that I didn’t like the front pleat (designed to make the trousers look more like a skirt), sooooo I unpicked it, removed the pleat and made the waistband longer.