How to seal paper from damage?

HELLO Country Crafts-Women and Crafts-Men!

Background: I had a square wooden box that goes over the Kleenex box. One day I got a crazy idea to glue (spray adhesive) an old paper oil field map (buried treasure!) to the outside of the box. Which I’ve done (see pic, work in progress). It turned out well, looks super cool.

The Problem: I feel like I need to somehow “seal” the paper so it doesn’t get ruined by dirty hands or splashed by water or something and ruin the map.

The Question: What would be the best way to “seal” the paper map? All I know is to spray with satin clear enamel which I’ve used before on brass and copper to prevent discoloration. I don’t know if that would work here, but I’m disinclined to try for fear of ruining the map without knowing.

I know this is a novice question; I’m an old welder and much more comfortable working with hot steel than wood or paper. And no wife to ask about such things (she run off to Dallas). Go easy on me!

Thanks for the advice, truly appreciate it!
Ole Dabe
West Texas, America

2 Likes

Hello! A collage medium would probably do the trick! Something like Mod Podge, the most commonly available brand. Their “hard coat” version dries without remaining tacky. We’ve many wonderful paper crafters and artists here who I know will have great advice!

I was going to suggest Mod Podge also. It’s brushed on, rather than sprayed. What you are doing is called decoupage (attaching paper to a surface and then sealing it.)
Welcome to Lettuce Craft!
Also, I think your idea of putting the map on the tissue box is clever! My dad was a geologist; he would have loved it.

Am easier solution is PVA glue, they dry clear. If you’re worried then test it first. But it will provide a nice protective layer-any you probably already have some

1 Like

THANK YOU Tara, Pam and Edel! Very helpful input from you all.
That’s exactly what I was needing to learn.