I am new to Cricut and I am looking for some tips

Hey.
I am waiting on the arrival of my new Cricut Maker 3. I am very new with Cricut. I am very excited to get started. I have already watched some great YouTube videos on how to do a few things.

The reason why I went with a Cricut Maker 3, is because I’m looking at learning and starting up a small business, and want more variety in cutting options in case I decide to make/different things. I want to keep my options open to learning lots.
Im starting with making cake toppers. I know many bakers and lots have said their customers are always asking about cake toppers. Figured this would be an awesome venture.

I am digging everywhere to investigate all the things I would need to know while starting up and practicing using my new Cricut. Any handy tips out there?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Welcome to the community!

I’m also very new to Cricut, so the only tip I have is about money. Be prepared to pay a lot for different cutting instruments and mats, if you are planning on cutting different materials.

I have the Maker, and pulled it out around Christmas, wanting to make wooden and felt ornaments. Ended up paying hundreds of bucks for additional cutting blades and mats! (Luckily for me, the Cricut itself was gifted to me the previous Christmas, so the additional blades and mats were my only expenses.)

There are lots of YouTube videos with Cricut tips, and there are many people here who can give you guidance as well. Just thought if you had a business angle in mind, you’d want to be aware of budget concerns.

4 Likes

Thank you! It’s always good to hear the nitty gritty bits lol. I appreciate it.

1 Like

I bought a Cricut Joy last week and have been playing with it, trying to figure things out. I’m going to follow this thread to see what others say.