Memorial Shadowbox

I’m still new to the things my machine can do, and my typical crafting MO is finding stuff second hand and seeing how I can use it, but I finally bit the bullet and bought (retail! gasp) a shadowbox for my Mina’s collar and pawprint, which have been sitting ingloriously with her ashes on a bookshelf. It needed something extra, and I came up with with this:

I did NOT enjoy weeding the tiny letters. But I love how it turned out. Simple, but informative. When I showed the text to my husband this morning to make sure he was also going to approve of the finished product (she was a daddy’s girl), he said “It’s too early for getting choked up and teary eyed.”

26 Likes

I think it turned out lovely. A beautiful tribute to your pup :heart:

1 Like

That’s just lovely. :heart:

1 Like

This is so wonderful. I know Mina was a great dog and friend. Such a beautiful tribute.

1 Like

Lovely reminder of a dear friend.

1 Like

Thanks everyone! I’ve seen a lot of pet shadowboxes, and while they are almost always really cute and sweet and apt to make anyone who’s ever lost a pet a little teary, I really wanted something less sentimental. Not that we aren’t absolutely sappy about our girl, because Mina was one of those charmed once-in-a-lifetime dogs. But I didn’t want it to lean sweet, or feel generic. We’re too off the wall, sarcastic, nerdy, and wry for that. The dictionary definition style, for us, packs a lot of meaning into a little space. There’s just a lot of semi-hidden meaning behind even the most basic of the text.

3 Likes

What a great tribute

I’m reminded of my favorite saying, “everybody thinks they have the best dog, and none of them are wrong”

3 Likes

I just love this.

1 Like

I love it. And I love the style you choose, that you didn’t go for too cutesy. It’s awesome.

1 Like