Milky Way in Watercolor

I’ve been trying a few new things for the upcoming art swap, and I turned my practice pieces into cards for Father’s Day.

I was working from a photograph and with my limited palette of inktense pans for all of these.

A couple more, just playing around (copy practice)…

28 Likes

You are so great at these lovely little vignettes. Every one of them is enchanting.

2 Likes

Thank you! That’s so kind of you to say. I feel like a total noob, just splashing color around. :joy:

2 Likes

They are beautiful! I can’t believe you’re new to this type of painting.

3 Likes

Thanks! I’ve dabbled with acrylics for years, but these paints mix, move, and layer in ways I find almost inexplicable. It’s chaos! I like it. :joy:

2 Likes

How did you do the stars on yours? They’re intense pieces. Is intense the right word? It’s bringing memories of places.

3 Likes

I use a small, cheap, rough short-bristle paint brush, damp, and loaded with acrylic paint. I push most of the paint out, then use another large brush to strike the handle of the small brush…short, light strikes, while holding the small brush firmly. It makes for a light mist of droplets. I managed to paint everything within an 18" radius of the paper. :person_shrugging: Those long-exposure photos pick up all the stars.

3 Likes

Your Milky Way paintings are so beautiful.

3 Likes

these are absolutely gorgeous!

Splatters are so much fun. It’s why everything I own is covered in paint!
loading up an old toothbrush with paint and using your thumb to flick the bristles is also a fun way to do splatters

3 Likes

Having a limited palette sure hasn’t limited your creativity!

They are lovely and quite evocative…there is a feeling of peace and wonderment…

Like @geekgirl , I love splatters and use an old toothbrush as well as an old fan brush to splatter…including clothes, furniture, floor…lol

Beautiful effects you got!

3 Likes