Need HELP! STEM activity suggestions?

Hello everyone!

I’m in need of some guidance/inspiration and I thought you all could send it my way.

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m a Spanish teacher (formerly at the HS level, but I moved to MS 6 years ago and LOVE it!). I’m known for the being the crafty/can do most anything type.

As of today, I am in a dilemma. My school is hosting another STEM night at the end of April or early May. The first one was well organized and attended. There were all sorts of activities that were science/technology/engineering/math related. We gained lots of awesome publicity for the school.

Here’s the issue. I’ve been asked, since I’m the artsy type, to come up with an art related STEM activity for the next night. Last time, our art teacher did something with chalk paint and pendulums that was very well received. Unfortunately, she’s set that bar really high for me.

So I need to come up with an activity that is:
STEM related
Art related
Relatively inexpensive
Appropriate for 11-14 year old students
Quick as in can be completed in 5-6 minutes

I’m feeling A LOT of pressure with this. I have to come up with something unique, fun and engaging, when this is so seriously not my background at all! Then, there’s the fact that we’re going to have county big wigs involved this round…gulp!

Help a sister out! Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas?

6 Likes

Make slime (glue and borax I believe with or without glitter) or would that be outside of budget?

The chalk/pendulum project was the first that popped up in Google when I searched for STEM activities art.

There are numerous Pinterest boards devoted to the subject.
Hope you find a project to WOW the kids!!

1 Like

Slime is overdone within the science classes.