Pantry Buster - Adzuki Bean Stew

Do you buy weird ingredients you’ve never cooked with and have no idea how to use? Sigh, I do.
Destashing the pantry is a good way to force myself to use that stuff up. Today was adzuki beans & extremely dark cocoa powder (think mole sauce). I could make this “recipe” again with any combo of beans, veg & spices too.

Measure to taste, I am a just-toss-some-in-there chef :kissing_heart:
Saute chopped onion in oil over med heat, add salt to sweat
Grated ginger, minced garlic
Cumin, paprika, garam masala, turmeric, toasted in the pot
Unsweetened cocoa powder, a sprinkle of garlic powder, dried onion, a no salt seasoning from costco, bay leaf
1 can of tomatoes, chopped potato, carrot, zucchini, & 2 cups dried adzuki beans.
Water to cover all ingredients, remember the beans will swell
salt & pepper to taste, cayenne for heat if you like
If too acidic, add a bit of sweetner. I used coco sugar (busting that food stash! lol)

Simmer until beans are tender. This can take a while & veg get very soft, those can be added part way through if you prefer them firmer.

Can be served as is or with a squeeze of lemon/lime & a sprinkle of chopped parsley or cilantro. A dollop of sour cream is good too.

I was concerned it would be too heavy but nope, rich but also nice & light with all the veg & tomato. Delish!

6 Likes

This is totally my style of cooking. Recently I made an accidental Satay sauce that was delish. On our chat, I told friends, who then asked for the recipe…

I was, hmmm, I can tell you the ingredients but no measurements because I just don’t!. It’s all to taste.

This is also why I can’t bake cakes / make bread, they need more precision than I care for!!

3 Likes

So true! Rustic seedy loaves can sometimes come out ok mixed “by feel” but not proper bread. That’s a terrible disaster.