Paper Weaving Simple Origami Boxes for Kids

So, as most of you know, this is my first year as an art teacher! Yay! I am currently employed for a year covering a leave of absense, but they are impressed and hope I can stay. Double yay!

Anyway, jump ahead. The 6th graders keep asking if we are going to do the bowl weaving project. I said I didn’t know and searched Google and came up with the project they were talking about.

So, on Friday, I had free choice with my small 6th grade group, and sat with some girls and learned this. As expected, it is fun and cool, but definitely not age appropriate for a teaching tool for 6th grade. Definitely something they could do as an early finisher or free choice.

I feel like I need to allow it in some capacity because they have been waiting to do it for years.

Anyway, I cannot in my good faith use this for teaching weaving at their level, so I found a cool Teachers Pay Teachers with paper loom weaving with patterns. That is more appropriate. (If I get to stay at this school, after a few years, I could probably drop it even lower in grade levels.) I come from a background with high art expectations–that which 4th graders would do, we could get 2nd/3rd to do.

So, I played around tonight.

The weaving:

First

Second

3rd not photographed. I found a basic origami box tutorial, and I used it to make a woven box.

The folding is tricky with the woven layers, so this may need lighter paper (I used cardstock that I had at home.)

Yes, much better. This is actual weaving and origami, so lots of skills.

Made the yellow box next.

This one I added an insert that was slightly bigger, so just stapled it in…it’s a kids project anyway.

Both together

I will bring these to school and display them so they will see them and get excited. This is much more developmentally and educationally appropriate for them.