Peachy Diamond Shawl

I’m quite delayed in posting this because I thought I might dye it a darker color, but I wanted to do a natural dye process. I’ve never done that before, so the shawl had just been sitting around since February while I mustered up the courage to do it. Then a lovely friend of mine who lurks on here, but is too shy to post her amazing Renfest costumes, told me that she loved the color and would wear it as is. So I gifted it to her. I have to say it does suit her skin tone beautifully.

This was a pattern that I attempted once before with a different yarn. It was not working out and I frogged it. I think it was @AntBee who told me that that yarn just didn’t want to be used for that pattern. She was right. This time around I only worked the middle panel. The end pieces were still not working for me.

I also reworked the pattern some. I think when the pattern was translated into English, something was lost. On some of the chart lines there were too many stitches. The “slant” of reduction didn’t look right. This is my sloppy rewrite. :woozy_face:

18 Likes

Oh, and I forgot to say that the yarn had been in my stash for a few years. I successfully used it all with this.

2 Likes

Nice that you stuck it out and managed to adjust the pattern to work so beautifully!

I like the natural looking color, but it would also have been lovely in a darker color or different yarn (the stitch definition of the yarn is fantastic!)…

You have a very lucky friend!

2 Likes

Thank you so much. The yarn is 100% cotton. Not twisted a lot, so I had to watch that I wasn’t splitting it. My friend has a peaches and cream skin tone, so the shawl looked great wrapped around her shoulders.

2 Likes

It looks great! Good for you for finding your way through the challenges. You’ve got a lucky friend there. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

So pretty! Lucky friend!

I hope your friend will eventually let us see her awesome costumes!

2 Likes