Question about thread cutter

So my new to me machine has an automatic thread cutter. And in chatting with some other quilty types and sewers a few were very very vehement about NEVER using the function. But didn’t have a reason why.

And it’s been bugging me.

So do you have one? Use it? Why or why not?

Cause i think I’m coming down on the pro thread cutter side, but if there’s a valid reason to stop, it’s not yet an ingrained habit and i will.

2 Likes

I have your same machine, I love that function. I don’t love the manual thread cutter on the side though. & the kneelift, pft. That sent my brand new machine to the shop for repair :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

1 Like

I use it because I am mainly sewing small bits - paper and fabric - so I stop and start a lot. But I am by no means an expert seamstress, I’m just adding my 2 cents. It is a habit for me now.

1 Like

I really like the automatic thread cutter on my Jukis because it’s activated by the pedal. On my other machines I always just use the built in manual cutter on the side. The main downside to the automatic thread cutter is when you start sewing again you get a little “nest” of thread where you started because you’re not holding the tails out of the way. You can always bring the bobbin thread up and pull tails before sewing but that defeats the purpose. Of course if you were using a leader anyway, you’d have the best of both worlds - automatic thread cutter and no “nests” on the backside of your sewing. The little “nests” don’t really bother me so I always use the thread cutter on my Jukis.

On my Brother straight stitch machine the thread cutter always cuts it too short and the upper thread pops out of the needle so I never use it. It would probably be an easy adjustment if I took it in for servicing.

1 Like

That nesty thread biz has not happened for me, it’s been so perfect.

1 Like