Shunamite Diet for Pet Rats, a Recipe

Hello! When I bought our pet rats almost a year ago I have learned so, so, sooooo much more than I thought I would! There is a whole world of information on the internet now :heart: I quickly started making my own rat food mix since learning that commercially made “blocks” are possibly not the best. I am not an expert but I wanted to share my “recipe” to show just how easy it is for anyone on the fence or for anyone wanting to know more :slight_smile: I try to follow the “Shunamite diet” but it was developed in the UK and depending on where in the world you live there are different food mixes available…, I joined a facebook group based in the US to learn more and my mix is based off the information I learned in that group. If you’re interested in this diet please do your own research! This is just how I do it :smile:

Base mix

• 3 scoops Cavalor Horse Muesli
  • 4 scoops Pigeon Food Mix
  • 1 scoop Dry Split Peas
  • 3 scoops Straight Grains Mix
    – Brown Rice, Popping Corn, Millet, Barley, Bulgar, Rolled Oats

5 scoops Processed Gains Mix

• Dry Pasta
  • Cereals with 5grams or less of sugar
  • Crackers

Protein Mix

• 1 scoop Fish Based Dog Food
  • 1/2 scoop Dry Red Lentils
  • 1/2 scoop Dried Meal Worms (picture blurred to protect the squeamish)

1 scoop Dehydrated Vegetables Mix

• Kale
  • Yellow Squash
  • Tomato
  • Mushrooms
  • Banana
  • Apple
  • Dandelion

1 scoop Oily Seed Mix

• Sunflower Seeds
  • Acorn Squash Seeds
  • Pumpkin Seeds
  • Sesame Seeds

Then it’s time to mix!

From unmixed (blurred because of meal worms)

To a beautiful mix of colors and textures!

And here are our happy rats :heart: :heart: :heart:

Pumpkin is always the first to come for food! :rofl:

Scruffy taking his time to pick the best piece :yum:

and TV woke from his nap to get a snack :kissing_heart: