Traditional willow basket

I’m not sure if this is the correct category really. But it is weaving and willow is fibrous :thinking:

I did a four hour willow weaving course today and made this basket. I love how it turned out. I’m not a complete beginner, I did a two day course twenty years ago and made two baskets that I still use. And if there is such a thing as reincarnation, I was definitely a basket maker in a past life.

This is made entirely, and solely of willow withes. The browner ones had been dried and soaked, the green is fresh willow. It is quite tough on the old finger joints, but the end result is really study and cute!

I’m really happy I had the body done in enough time to learn how to put on a handle

Me being extremely happy with my day.

31 Likes

You look extremely happy as you should be!

1 Like

Gah! It’s awesome!! I love it and I love how happy it makes you to create it. Does the greener part stay a different color from the body as it ages? That is a really nice look.

1 Like

Everything about this makes me smile :slight_smile: Your basket looks great!

1 Like

I love you and I love your basket!

1 Like

I actually don’t know. I’m guessing it will get brown as it ages, but it was grown in Ireland and the brown brown in three UK, so it perhaps is a different variety and might stay a different colour.

@MistressJennie back at you my lovely.

5 Likes

WOW! That turned out so wonderful, I have much envy for your day and also for your basket. And your fabric stash, my word.
I learned a little from a basket maker on Salt Spring Island many years ago when I went for a week-long mud building workshop, that whole time was so terrific. The last bit of my freedom in life, it was all childrearing after that. I never did make a whole entire basket, maybe this summer with some nettle fiber, destung of course!

3 Likes