Vic vances

I’m a sewing beginner I want too learn how too sewing so I can make design this Vic vances pastel suit ?. .

2 Likes

Sewing a suit is a pretty advanced project. What kinds of things have you made so far?

1 Like

None ?. .

I recommend starting with some simple projects first to get the feel of how things work. Do you have a sewing machine?

1 Like

My little sister I think had 1 for sewing class ?. .

Do you have access to it? If not, I’d suggest checking out a used sewing machine. Joann has had some pretty good sales on sewing machines too.

I’m sure you can find some basic sewing tutorials on YouTube. You might want to start with projects like tote bags, pillows etc. if you’re going to make a suit at some point, you’ll also have to learn how to do zippers, sleeves and buttonholes. And you can probably find a suit pattern in a style similar to the one you want, so designing your own pattern would probably be unnecessary. The trick, apart from learning how to follow a pattern, would be picking a suitable fabric in the color you want.

2 Likes

I think I do ?. .

That’s where I’d start! Good luck!

T y thank you ?. .

Great advice @Bunny1kenobi. I’d agree with starting with some smaller, easier projects to get the feel of it.

3 Likes

Ok ?. .

Yeah, as the others said above, a suit is not a good project to start learning to sew with. They are a very advanced sewing project. To give you some background, I have a Masters degree in costume design & technology. I’ve worked in professional and educational costume shops around the country. I’ve patterned, cut, and stitched innumerable difficult period pieces like corsets, gowns, and of course men’s ware like suits.