What's Clear, Plastic, and hard to find? Transparent Ribbon Riddle

Hi ya’ll! I’m new to LettuceCraft so I hope this post follows the rules correctly. I’ve seen Etsy and other Ribbon sellers selling clear plastic ribbons with patterns printed on them from companies like ACI Wholesale. I’m trying to find the clear plastic ribbon (varying sizes) without any printing in hopes that I can figure out how to print my own designs on clear ribbon. My Waldo like problem is I can’t seem to find this type of ribbon without any printing. I found one mention at Walmart for a ‘Clear Transparent Plastic Unwired Ribbon’ but it was just one size and sold out. Anyone have any experience with this kind of ribbon or have any thoughts on how I might find some? Or know a company with this type of ribbon offering custom printing? Any thoughts on best type of machine for printing on clear plastic ribbon? I’m pretty good at crafting ideas, just get lost sometimes trying to find the right materials and machines to bring my ideas to life. Thank you! Enjoy your week!

3 Likes

First of all, welcome to LettuceCraft! This community is full of the kindest, most encouraging people. We are so glad you joined us.

About the ribbon, this is a tough one. I just checked eBay with no luck. I will keep thinking and looking.

p.s. The eBay results did give me clear, transparent, underwire plastic bras. :flushed::flushed::flushed: I thought we left torture devices in the middle ages.

4 Likes

Hello and welcome! My only suggestion might be using “non-adhesive tape” as a search term if you have not already. I don’t know that I have seen the kind of ribbon your talking about, but tape is a term used for colored plastic sold in rolls for other industries - flagging tape, “police tape,” etc. Maybe manufacturers and distributers of those things also have clear options? Good luck!

3 Likes

Could you use a roll of window plastic and cut it into strips? Not ideal, I know, but it might work.

2 Likes