Where can I find this fabric to use for a dress alteration?

Hi everyone, I’ve been trying to find a place online to ask about this, I’m not very experienced with this stuff at all but am putting together a gift for someone and would really appreciate help!

My mum is a big fan of the show Severance and especially the character Helly, and adored this dress that she wears in it:

I’ve uploaded a full reference album here :slight_smile:

My local sewing shop said that if I can provide them with a dress and the coloured strips, they’ll sew them together for me in the same design.
I think I’ve found a reasonably close dress, although it’s a little pricey and if anyone happens to know where I can get one of a similar style (preferably in the UK) I’d be really grateful!

But I have 0 clue where to shop for strips of fabric in that colour and material, I don’t even know what the material is :sweat_smile: I hope it’s okay for me to post asking for assistance here, would anyone please be able to advise me on what on earth it is and where I could buy something to use for that decoration?

Huge thank you for your time! I’ll 100% post photos of the finished product if I can get it put together.

1 Like

Those strips actually look like very expensive beading. If you are looking for a less expensive knockoff, I would use something like velvet for a texture but that can be sewn easily.

A black velvet dress with these strips sewn on would be lovely. You could edge the velvet with beading to outline, but it would be a lot of handsewing.

Sample of blue velvet

3 Likes

It might also be worth looking into sequin trim, or there are some fancy spangled fabrics-- in the fabric stores here they’d be called “special occasion” or “dance/swimwear”-- that might give you a similar look without having to do all that beading.

4 Likes

It looks like strips of metallic elastic to me.

4 Likes

That’s what I was thinking, too.

3 Likes