3D printer

I’ve been flirting with getting a 3D printer for a few years, finally have a project that really calls for one. But which one should I get?

The characteristics I want include:
-able to produce fine, accurate details, 1mm wide areas inside a component
-small footprint, doesn’t take up a lot of space. 6" square print area would be plenty.
-up to $200 or so
-readily available printing filaments (online). Do these work like inkjet printers, where the machine is cheap, but ink overpriced?I
-paintable medium
-not hideously complex to use
-bonus: be great if it worked with Photoshop 7.0, because I already own and understand that.

Any suggestions on models?

1 Like

@mr.sweets4ever got any suggestions?

2 Likes

There are certainly many high-quality 3D printers available. One thing to note is that all of these printers, even the very high end are not without issues. Preparation is critical, if the bed isn’t level or if the temperatures are not right for the filament - you will have a failed print. In no way is this meant to scare you, just I feel critical to understand that it’s not a perfect tool.

My first 3d printer was the Creality Ender 3. It costs $167.99 and can be found here. https://creality3d.shop/collections/3d-printer/products/creality-ender-3-3d-printer-economic-ender-diy-kits-with-resume-printing-function-v-slot-prusa-i3-220x220x250mm

It can print with 1.75mm ABS/PLA,WOOD,FLEXIBLE,Carbon fiber,PETG and more. It’s a great starting printer. Setup is tough, it’s very much in parts when it arrives, but after a couple of hours it will work and there is a huge community that supports it. I was able to print this with it

I just purchased a 2nd printer. Partially to not have so many issues with leveling, but also the printing is slow and it helps to have more than one. I now have the Artillery Sidewinder X1. Prints with the same filaments as the ender, more accurate, faster. About double the price, however . Here