Bear vs. Shark Party Backdrop/Decoration

We’re having a party to celebrate TheMisterT’s 50th on the coast next month. For his 40th we used a piece of art with a lumber jack boxing with a bear (see below for details), so this seemed like the perfect image for this milestone!

I used it to make a save-the-date and will use it for the final invitation, as well.

SaveTheDate-Front-textW

I used mostly watered down artists acrylics, some watered down craft paint on utility canvas from JoAnn. There are casings sewn into the top for hanging and the bottom for a PVC pipe to weight it and keep it from folding over.

Not a good pic, but you can kind of see the PVC stand it’s hanging on in this shot of the back with the sun behind it.

I am NOT an artist who draws or paints scenes or portraits or much of anything representational at all, so I used an opaque projector to trace with pencil.

Then I filled in the main things with black paint followed by referencing the digital image to paint in the rest.

BearSharkBackdrop00d

I’ve never done a project quite like this before and am pretty tickled with how it came out! While the majority of the painting took longer than I expected, I wasn’t overwhelmed by it. I think I may do some other projector projects, but probably not so much replicating other people’s works on fabric.

Replicated from a piece of digital art by Michael Georgeson that I came upon during some online searching. I think via Flickr with the ability to download hi-res copies.

Here it is in situ:
BearShark06

ADDENDUM:
Photographing this reminded me that I intended to make weights for the feet to diminish the chances of a breeze tipping it over. So I did!