Results of a book binding weekend

There was a weekend book binding class last weekend, she’s a new tutor and does workshops in her house. It was pretty reasonable price, and while I make a lot of books I signed up. For two reasons, a) I needed to get out of the house and have some me time and b) I’m a self taught book binder and I felt sure there was a lot to learn.

And I learned loads, the tutor was very precise, I tend to be a bit more slapdash, so being forced to work more slowly and be more controlled was a good experience (although I never got into the crafty flow state with it)

We made two small books, the smaller one is only about 4" tall, and it has folded and stitched signatures, its only about 1/3" thick but I still put headbands and a book mark ribbon in. The larger one is about 6" tall and that was made from separate pages, also stitched-I’d never done this before so it was really useful

The books are actually pretty perfect, because I (was forced to) took a lot of care in the making.

21 Likes

Amazing! I love this. What a great “me time” activity & they both look very pro, head bands & all! Sounds engaging & fun, despite no flow.

3 Likes

Beautiful! I’m glad you got some time to yourself darling. :hugs:

2 Likes

So pretty! What a great way to seek out me-time, too.

1 Like

Woah, those are gorgeous! Love them!

1 Like

Love them. Did you use book glue or did you stich them (the pages inside

1 Like

Both. The folded pages are stitched through the folds as normal, and the spine is reinforced with glue and a type of fabric called shirting is used on the spine.

The other one with non folded pages, individual pages are stacked, glued, then small holes are drilled through the stack and stitched, then reglued and fabric applied.

3 Likes

These are lovely!

1 Like

They look incredible.

1 Like