Stumpwork mushroom

I made this today, I’m working on my crafty resolution of making something every day. This was today’s make. It was about 3.5 hours of stitching and I just kinda winged it from a photo.

The body and cap are stuffed with polyester wadding-probably not the best idea, but it seemed to work ok.

33 Likes

This is really cool! I love the fabric and the stumpwork is cool. I’ve never tried to do that before. Well done you!

Absolutely love the dimension! It’s sculptural! I hope to see more of your work!

I’ve been doing this as well! not completing, but working on something everyday. making an effort to be creative. I can’t wait to hear how yours goes!

2 Likes

That looks awesome! I love the texture you got with the floss :slight_smile:

I am going to count working on something as making something, but I am a fast crafter, because I tend to lose interest if things stretch out. I try to get things done in one sitting-unless it’s a quilt, then it might be two :joy:

4 Likes

This looks so cool! The background fabric sets the scene very well.

Both of you keep an eye out next month for the Thing-A-Day craftalong where we commit to working on something every day of February! You’ll have a head start on momentum and we’d love to share that spirit.

7 Likes

Woot!

Great resolution :smiley: and the mushroom looks amazing, the backing is also wonderful, makes it all way more magical :smiley:

I also seem to lose interest if the project lags on and on…I will look forward to that challenge…it will help destash and if I use scraps, I am ticking off a lot of craftalongs! :smiley:

I planned to commit to the Feb craftalong for sure. Not so for sure I’ll be able to make awesome stumpwork :mushroom: hoops in one day though, wow!

1 Like

Cool! I love the background fabric you chose to go with it. Very fun and funky.