What's your sewing method?

Following an interesting discussion with @Magpie and @madebyBeaG I figured I would take progress pictures of my latest project, just to show what I’m doing & compare notes with others.

First, I draft the pattern on printer paper:

I only know the basics of pattern drafting really, but most garments meant for daily wear are quite similar. If you can draft a basic bodice with and without darts, a few different skirts (skirts are easy!) pants, a few types of sleeves and a few collars, you can basically draft most regularly worn garments. All the details are just minor tweaks. My mum is a seriously good pattern drafter and took professional courses when I was a kid, I’m self-taught and never progressed beyond her first coursebook. The method I use doesn’t require complicated maths (if you can pay with cash money, you can do this) but I know some do.

This is going to be a T-shirt dress from a knit fabric and it’s the first time I’ve drafted a pattern without darts. I was gifted a dress like that a few years back and it’s wearing out. It looks surprisingly nice on me even though I’m quite curvy. So I found a nice fabric in my stash to make a similar dress.

Next I draft the full-sized pattern onto translucent patternmaking paper, cut it out, pin it on the fabric and cut it out. I use a hand gauge (by Prym) to make sure I cut the right seam allowance. I know American ready-made patterns come with built-in seam allowances and it just makes my head hurt. I’ve never managed to finish a garment made from a pattern like that.

Next step will be tailor’s tacks! I always stitch them around the neckline, top of the sleeves, around the armhole etc, but I get the best results when I stitch around the sides too (I don’t do the hems).

4 Likes

What do you allow for seam allowances? They look huge compared to what I’m used to. How do you finished your edges?

Is this going to be an ongoing post? I sure hope so, I’d like to follow through the entire dress.