Gingerbread Rapunzel's tower

Edit - I’ve added some better photos of the details but the kitchen is trashed from working into the early hours of the morning to complete it, please excuse the mess.

I entered my local cake show for the first time and decided to pick something I’ve never done before in my life - gingerbread. I have never dabbled much in cookies or royal icing so I thought it would be a good learning curve for me and have some fun with a chance of prize money. My 5 year old is obsessed with the movie Tangled so I decided to build Rapunzel’s tower. Because, you know, what complete beginner dives head first into a competition with no experience to tackle curved cookies? This idiot :sweat_smile:
My tower was completely edible, weighed about 5kg and It was around 80cm tall I think. The gingerbread was baked and immediately moulded around a tall glass flute shape vase while still soft to create the curves. The roof was baked as one solid piece over a tinfoil mould with the chimney and side turret added later. The shingles were made of gumpaste and added individually. The ground was rice crispy treats covered in fondant, the tower base was coated in royal icing and sanded to give the look of old plasterwork. The tower room was covered in fondant, and every leaf and vine was individually piped with royal icing. Inside the tower room, I had an edible image of rapunzel’s room from the movie so when you looked through the gelatin windows it looked awesome. Rapunzel’s hair had sticks of dried spaghetti inside to strengthen it.
In all, the tower took about 60 hours to make and decorate, and was worth it because I won First place in the Gingerbread category!