Woodburnt Gourd Claws

This link is a 17 minute video burning one of the claws.

(After I made that video, and before starting the last five, I cut up a piece of cardboard to wrap around my leg. That made burning the pieces next to my leg a lot safer).

Someday maybe I’ll have the will and mind to explain this design, but it’s a design I’ve been making since 1997 - 2000, and wasn’t until around 2005 until I started burning them onto gourds. So my nieces are very aware of these, heh, and I’m hoping to have enough of them for all the grand…nieces and nephews, kids, and any other kids that might want one. (Which, I need to count them all out. Pshew! Over 31 years ago, there were only five of us, now there’s…so…many…of…us, :rofl:).

Next three done.

This time I tried something different, and used my dremel to drill into the burnt part to make lightened dots on the middle claw.

I am done. Agsgwadv (Cherokee). Lilajes (Tzotzil).

Each one is unique, for each unique kid, :smile:

26 Likes

They are really interesting & unique Charles. Great family heirloom.

1 Like

Cool. Make me think of leaping salmon.

1 Like

It’s so cool how you get so much variation with your repeated design!

1 Like

I love these! They really have a feel of Native American art about them. So cool! Thanks for posting the video as well. It was interesting to see how you did the wood burning.

3 Likes

These are really cool! Love the wood burned design. I never would have guessed these were made from gourd!

Wow! Those are gorgeous and so unique! Bold designs with delicate detailing.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing the video, it gives a great perspective of how small these are.

But seriously, Charles, I almost held my breath the entire video thinking you’d slip and burn your leg. You kept mentioning how close your fingers were, all I thought was, what about your leg :smiley:

The one in your video reminds me of teepees and the rising sun.

I hadn’t realised how small they are. Love the work

1 Like