Strawberry Shortcake and Friends! Halloween Costume Entry 2023

Life is funny, surprising, and often circular. I always loved the Strawberry Shortcake of my childhood, with her cute pinafore dress, her house made of cake, and all her sweet baked-goods inspired friends. I have long wanted to make a Strawberry Shortcake costume for myself for Halloween, even going so far as to buy all the materials when I was in grad school at UIUC. Of course school was so busy that I never managed to finish it. I graduated, and moved to NH, then KY. Since I had cut out and pieced the red dress, but hadn’t finished it, it was eventually donated to a student production at WKU, that needed a red babydoll dress for a plus sized actress. So at least it was perfect for that! We moved to TN, and then last year, we decided to come back to the town we met, and where I went to school, Urbana-Champaign.

Fast Forward to this year! I was trying to come up with a good idea for Ada’s Halloween costume. She’s an active toddler, so it had to move well and be comfortable. When I was looking through her closet, I came upon a plain red dress from Primary, that I bought on clearance in the spring. Later that day, I was going through my fabric stash, and found the fabric I had bought for my own Strawberry Shortcake hat all those years ago. It’s a beautiful pink embroidered linen, covered in strawberries, vines and berry blossoms. Clearly it was a sign: My cute little kid, was going to be an even cuter little cake-baby!