Heart patchwork block, pattern and tutorial

This is my first attempt at drafting a patchwork block. I am fully aware that I might be re-inventing the wheel from a half remembered one that I have seen online. As it is my first attempt it is far from perfect, but it should measure 12.5" on each side.

I have included two options here, they are both basically the same except for the 3.5"corner blocks. In the more complex version (on the left above) they are modified log cabin piecing, in the simpler version they are simply 3.5" squares of a contrasting colour.
All dimensions are in inches. Seam allowance is 1/4"
Cut from background fabric
4 of 6.5 X 3.5 rectangles
4 of 1.5 X 1.5 squares
1 of 4 X 4 square

Heart fabric
2 of 3.5 x 3.5
1 of 4 X 4

For the simpler variation,
4 of 3.5 x 3.5 in a contrasting colour.

For the complex version, with log cabin corners

4 of 3.5 x 3.5 fabric to act as foundation for the log cabin corners, this will not be seen, so you can use scraps.
4 of 1.5 x 1.5 squares (either background fabric or an accent)
strips of 1.5 (this is best cut out of the background fabric, so that the triangles float)
8 right angled triangles of sides 2.5 (these should be a contrast colour, either all different if you are using scraps, or 4 of one fabric and 4 of another.

Step 1
Start by making a half square triangle (HST)
Use 1 square of background fabric 4 X 4 + 1 square of heart fabric 4. X 4

If you don’t know how, this link will tell you
How to Make Easy Half Square Triangle Units for Quilts (thesprucecrafts.com)

This will give you two HST, trim these to 3.5 x 3.5 when pressed (thanks to Mistress Jennie for this suggestion) these will be joined to make the bottom part of the heart.

Step 2
Taking one of the 3.5 x 3.5 squares of heart fabric, and two of the 1.5 x 1.5 background fabrics. Place the squares on adjacent corner and sew as shown below.

Clip off the excess and press open.

Make two of these

Step 3