Moderator Profile - MistressJennie!

It’s my pleasure to present a little Q&A from our own @MistressJennie !

Tell us a little about yourself
I grew up all over the state of New Hampshire, from the White Mountains to downtown Manchester. While living in the mountains we were very isolated, so I often did crafts and art projects to keep busy. Later we lived in the city, where I did theatre and band in high school. Since budget is always an issue, theatre gave me a very ‘I’m sure I can figure out how to make that’ mentality. After getting my Bachelors degree in technical theatre, I went to graduate school for costume design & technology at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign. There I met my husband Jim, and we got married a week after I graduated. I spent 6 years teaching costuming at a college in Kentucky, before my husband got offered a job in TN that we just couldn’t refuse. So now we live in a suburb of Nashville, with our slightly neurotic dog Astrid, and soon our daughter who is due to be born in April.

What are some of your favorite crafts to make?
My main crafts are jewelry making, quilting, sewing, crochet, and cooking/baking, which I seem to cycle through depending on my mood of the month. But I really like to dabble in just about any medium when I see something fascinating or get inspired by something like a new swap or a cool swap partner. That’s how I came to try candle making, soap making, paper crafting, weaving, miniatures, shrines, etc.

You share some fabulous recipes here on LC. What are some of your favorite go-to weeknight dishes, or even Date Night dishes, to make?